“I SING BECAUSE I’m Happy …

I sing because I’m free, For his eye is on the sparrow, and I know he watches over me”;  this is one of my all time favorite hymns.  As a child I grew up listening to the golden voice of George Beverly Shea.  His voice would resonate through the air as he sang this song.  Today my heart sang this song as finally, we received some good news.

Guess by now many of you may think I’ve fallen off the face of the earth.  Truth of the matter is we had a major “life issue” occur; one that scared both hubby and I to the core.  Hubby developed some health symptoms right after Thanksgiving that required immediate attention.  Luckily we got right in to see our family doctor and then the tests began.  Almost immediately, he was diagnosed with colon “cancer”….yes, that six letter word that sends shivers down your spine all the while knocking you off your feet.  You find yourself saying, “no, this is not happening to us, it’s not supposed to happen to us, we eat right, try to take care of ourselves…this is just not supposed to be happening”.  Before I had much time to react, I realized I had to get a grip and keep it together, I had to support my hubby.  Immediately I started praying, asking God to guide us as we went down this path and somehow give us a miracle.  I didn’t know how, but I knew God would  honor my prayer…I just felt it deep down inside.                                                                     

As we progressed through the myriad of tests, (CT scans, lung biopsy, etc) we found ourselves wondering if this nightmare would ever end.  The days and weeks before Christmas just passed as a blur.  Finally, after conferring with the surgeon, a surgery date was set for early January.  Once the surgery was done, the surgeon came out to tell me the results.   During our conversation I questioned what she thought the “stage” of the tumor might be… she indicated from her initial sight and feel of the tumor she felt it was a “stage III”.  Immediately my heart sank as I’d been praying for a Stage II.  If you know anything about cancer, there’s a lot of difference between stages and whether additional treatment is needed…it’s all determined by the stages and “T” count, which relates to whether there’s lymph nodes involved.  Stage III was definitely a big letdown…still I clung to my faith and put my trust in the Lord. 

On Friday of last week, 1/15/16, during a quick doctor visit, we were informed of the pathology results…the tumor was completely removed, all margins were clear, and….the official stage was STAGE II, with 11 negative lymph nodes.  Immediately I told hubby we got our miracle!  The nurse concurred and indicated hubby was a very lucky man.  So… today I sing because I’m happy … God definitely answered our prayer.  I encourage anyone who reads this today to put their faith and trust in our God as he’s there’s to save and help all of us.

My sewing and quilting machines have been quiet for many, many weeks, but I’m edging back into my studio…stay tuned…I’ll be back soon!

8 thoughts on ““I SING BECAUSE I’m Happy …

  1. Judy

    I haven’t written to you before but want to say, I am rejoicing with you on your husbands results. We have a wonderful God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

