A New Set of Eyes…

If you’re a quilter, sewer or crafter, you’ll understand how important it is to have sufficient lighting in the work area.
For months, no lets say years, I’ve tried adding all sorts of lighting to my sewing area.  I have 2 ott lamps, one by my sewing machine and one by my quilting machine,  plus 2 different LED clamp on lights for the quilt machine, and a “bright light” for the needle area.   Gee am I light crazy ??? 

The lighting around my sewing machine was ok, but not for my quilter,  Betsy, my HQ Sweet 16.  Being an older model, she didn’t have all the lighting that the new models have these days.  While I tried various options, the lighting was still inadequate….that is until now.
Here’s what I had before the latest addition…

image

See all the darkness.. only bright light around needle and where the overhead
ott light shines.

Now here’s the new eyes…

image

What a difference…

image

image

The new LED “eyes” provides lighting all around and under arm.  I’m amazed at how well I can see to stitch!  What a difference a new set of “eyes” makes.

Till next time…keep your eye on the needle and your foot on the pedal.

10 thoughts on “A New Set of Eyes…

  1. Melanie McNeil

    I keep adding more and more and more and MORE light! For my long-arm, we added an LED light bar that is something like 40″ long. It can “hang” on two nails in the wall, and easily comes down to be moved when needed for other reasons. (Taking pix of the quilts is also better with this new light added.)

    The LED light and the long-arm both plug into a surge protector, and I only plug THAT in when I’m quilting. The LED is ON when plugged in. It lights the whole room and spills a lot of light on my quilting surface, making that so much easier.

    I hope you find your new lighting helpful. Makes a huge difference, doesn’t it?

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Oh it makes a world of difference, it’s like being able to see for the first time. I’m planning on an re-do for my room, moving all the furniture around, trying to re-organize n create more space. That light bar might just be something I should consider. Plus I do have a window so that gives some natural lighting also.

      Reply
  2. TextileRanger

    I just saw something similar in a Craftsy class that I bought probably 2 years ago and am just now watching, and I thought it was genius!
    My husband put in two recessed lights on one wall where I have waist-high shelving and a counter top, and we put daylight bulbs in those. It works wonders for helping me work longer in fall and winter evenings — I don’t get that “oh, it’s dark, time to sit and read” feeling. I can see to pick colors better too.

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      What a good idea ..recessed lighting..hmm, yep that’s a great idea. I have a shelf along wall and above quilt machine and had thought of adding a flourscent strip light. We need all the help we can get with coordinating colors, etc., as it’s so easy to confuse color tones when lighting isn’t the best. Great idea on the recessed lighting.

      Reply
  3. treadlemusic

    Wow! What a difference!!! Even with the newer model, I felt I needed more lighting and got an “Uber Light”. Your addition is much better as it doesn’t involve the added flex arm that gets in the way with the larger quilts. Lighting makes all the difference in any stress that could be experienced while stitching. I’m thrilled for you!!!!!!

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Hmm..never heard of an Uber Light so I’ll check that out later. I found the LED light strips at a large electronics store but they are also available on Amazon for about $30. They advertise them to be used under cabinets, etc., and..you can add more strip if you want to. I have 2 strip n it’s just right for the machine. Plus they are controlled by a small remote…. Well worth it in my opinion.

      Reply
      1. Thread crazy Post author

        Not bad as I paid that for my large ott light. The ott light can sit on table as I have it currently or can be placed on a screw down device. Either way, it has a large arm that can be rotated around which is nice but it didn’t provide enough light down close.

Leave a Reply

