“Piecing” gives me Peace…

Have you ever heard the phrase “Piecing gives me peace”? If you were like me, “no” would be your answer. Ok, so my next question would be…might you know what that phrase means?? I didn’t until I started working at the quilt shop many many moons ago. While straightening and folding t-shirts one day, I happened to see a shirt with this phrase printed across the front of it. After starring at the shirt for a moment I placed it back on the shelf and went on with other chores. My mind though kept going back to that shirt, wondering about that phrase. When time permitted, I asked another worker about the shirt and to my surprise, she had designed this particular t-shirt for the shop!

After conversing a bit more, she said she’d always heard there were two types of quilters; a piecer and a quilter. She then went on to say she was definitely a “piecer”; while she did some quilting, piecing was her love. Said she could sit for hours on end and just piece! Her statement got me to thinking – was I a piecer or a quilter? Yes, I did love to piece but since I had just begun to quilt on my DSM and loved it so, I thought “No, I am a quilter”!

Since that time I have thought a bit more about that phrase….”piecing gives me peace”. Many mornings when I don’t have outside work to be done, I’ll grab my cup of coffee and head to the sewing room. There’s something to be said for that time early in the morning, while the rest of the world is still sleeping, being able to sit and “piece” a bit. Sometimes after a hectic day, between some music and the gentle hum of the sewing machine, I can get lost in my thoughts and just piece! Sitting and “piecing” can take me mentally to places of comfort; places of serenity and rest. More times than I care to admit, I get too “lost” and have to stop and rip a seam! For the most part though, I can say “yes, I love piecing and it does give me peace”!

Now I presume the same can be said for “quilting”; often find myself concentrating more on what or how I’m quilting a particular design than having “peace”! Maybe we should say….it’s peaceful but more so a bit stressful….especially when trying a new design!!.

So whether you are a “piecer” or a “quilter”, may you too find “peace” with the task of your choice. Till next time, keep your eye on the needle and your foot on the pedal!!

9 thoughts on ““Piecing” gives me Peace…

    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Oh I’m about the same…most days I only get an hour or so to sew. When I quilt though, I try to set aside and couple three hours, then the arms and hands give out! Have a good one.

      Reply
  1. treadlemusic

    I, too, have pondered that thought a time or two and, for me, I’m a quilter. I really like the piecing process (cutting, sewing, math{?}, etc) but the ‘peace’ comes when I’m quilting/stitching which is why I am so overjoyed to take in a top to quilt for someone else!!!!! Great post!!!

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Good morning – yes, I thought you’d agree on quilting being your peace maker! Sometimes I feel the same, just depends on my mood at the time I believe. Thanks and have a good one!

      Reply
      1. treadlemusic

        Good point!!!! Sometimes I do get really excited for the “piecing” but as I proceed through that I look forward to the stitching possibilities!!!!!!!! LOL!!!

      2. Thread crazy Post author

        Me too, as I’m anxious to see just how the top is going to come together. Then, quilting is that final step where the quilt actually comes to life! Best moment I believe of the whole process!!!

  2. Beth Ann

    Okay first I misread and thought it said “piercing” gives me peace and I wondered if I had missed out on some new part of your life. ๐Ÿ™‚ But yes—I get it! I love the images I am getting when I read this. That is after I got past the piercing thought! ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Thursday!

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Aww yes piercing does conjure up another whole set of pictures and thoughts! I must say I’ve had the slip of the needle n pierced myself but no pleasant thoughts associated with the incident!”. Lol. Have a good one yourself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

