What a difference a few days make…

For the past couple of weeks, I’ve been busy remaking my granddaughter’s memory wedding quilt and here’s the new color scheme I’m working with…

2014-06-22_19-22-45_398 (1)

Our granddaughter has choosen a medium-dark turquoise as her “color”, so I’ve utilized the color within the quilt and will also use it as the “stop border and binding”. Don’t you just love this color…..

FAB200-2[1]

This is another piece I found…looks like tooled leather.

FAB173-2T[1]

So I’ve been in the sewing room cutting and sewing, trying to get this quilt top finished and off to the quilters. For some strange reason though I had this nagging idea in back of my mind…something just wasn’t right. Looking back at my pattern, there it was – the total number of blocks. All along I’d had it in my mind that I needed fabric for 30 blocks for the new quilt. That’s how many blocks were in the original quilt. But…those blocks were 10-1/2″ in size; these new blocks are 16-1/2″ in size so I only need 20 blocks! Quite a bit of size difference don’t you think! Yep, I’d bought enough fabric for 30! Oh well, guess it’ll just be more for my stash! HA!!

With that resolved it’s back to sewing. The original blocks looked like this…
2014-06-19_08-17-31_541

Now, they look like this…
DSCN2771

What a difference a few days can make! So it’s back to sewing….more to come real soon!

10 thoughts on “What a difference a few days make…

    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Somehow each day I get to sew just a bit; going on a retreat tomorrow so hope to have it completed this weekend. Yes, it does feel good to make progress on this one!

      Reply
  1. TextileRanger

    I love the turquoise fabrics! And that picture on the bottom is surrounded by the perfect colors to set it off. I can’t wait to see what the whole quilt will look like!

    Reply
  2. Thread crazy Post author

    To me that turquoise color just sets the quilt off…I just finished the top yesterday! YEA! Hope to post pictures this next week. It looks great, of course I’m a bit prejudice!!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Granddaughter’s Wedding Quilt | threadcrazy

Leave a Reply

