Daily Archives: March 3, 2014

My Purple Phase in Life….

Have you reached your “purple” phase in life yet?? Maybe purple is your favorite color. For me, “blue” was always my favorite. I can remember even as a child I loved blue. Those family photos at Easter time of my brother and I standing, showed us holding our Easter baskets, I in my light blue dress and white hat, and my brother in his suit. You remember those times….ahh childhood memories.

Skip forward a few years and I find my color favorites are still about the same; however…..somewhere along the way I added “red” and of all things….”lime green” to my favorite list. Now, I feel as though “purple” is trying to creep in. Not a bad thing mind you, but I’d always heard it as “the purple phase of life”. You know, the red hat ladies!! They love purple too!

From working at the quilt shop, when a fabric line came in more than one color way and “purple” was one of those choices, it never failed to be the one which sold out the quickest. I wonder why?? Do you find yourself graviting to a particular color as you choose your fabrics? Is it purple??

While cleaning a bit in my studio, I could see a bag of fabric laying on the floor, resting against a cabinet. Taking a closer look, I noticed it was various pieces of purple fabric and one of my favorite pieces of fabric was in that bag….a beautiful iris floral piece! I could almost hear it say “sew me next”…”sew me next”!!

Here’s a sample of the fabrics included….
032014 iris

Aren’t these fabrics just what we need to help us think spring??? Just love the iris fabric, one of my favorite flowers…yes, I think I definitely need to think about starting this quilt!!