Almost ready to quilt…..!

For the past couple of days, I’ve worked on and off on this wild quilt and I think I can finally call it finished! I just love those large blue flowers in the corners. Then those migrating geese….I love how they just pull those borders together. While I could continue to add borders, at 60″x 66″, it’s a good lap size quilt, which is the size I was hoping to create .022014 064

By the way, that’s my gracious husband who loves to hold my quilts up for pictures…every once in a while!

Now I am anxious to take this quilt to my quilting machine. I haven’t decided how I’m going to quilt it, but I’ve got some ideas…need to study it a bit first. I already have my backing which I think is a perfect color combination with the top. Don’t you agree….Now let’s hope I can get it quilted before spring!!
backing

Now, next on my list is my donation quilt and then my Granddaughter’s wedding quilt…(which I’ve already started on…by the way)! In between all this I need to turn the garden over and get some cold weather planting done. Till next time, remember to keep your eye on the needle and your foot on the pedal…Happy Quilting!

10 thoughts on “Almost ready to quilt…..!

  1. Melanie in IA

    Spectacular! Yes, it’s really fine. As to quilting, you might do something special around the border. However, the center is so busy itself that fancy-work won’t be seen. I’ve done it myself and been disappointed that so much effort had so little impact. An all-over meander, to go really simple, would work fine. And if you do anything fancy like feathers, I wouldn’t bother to try to segment them by areas of the center, but again do all-over. Just my two cents, which you did not ask for!!

    It’s terrific. Thanks for showing it.

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Oh sounds like you think somewhat like I do…I had thought about outlining the black/white feather type designs and then another design all over. I do agree, the center is way to busy to start doing outlining…so still thinking. Have an idea on the borders..but again still thinking. Discovered this morning I now have income tax to finish…ugh! So quilting will have to wait a bit.

      Reply
  2. Doreen

    I really like that one and the backing couldn’t be more perfect!!!!! I have to agree with Melanie that the quilting wouldn’t really be seen in the center area…..but that doesn’t seem to change how I quilt such pieces!!!!!!! The corners are wonderful!!!!! Enjoy!!!!!!!

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Yes, Doreen I’m thinking about just how to do the center. Again, I think I’ll outline a bit and then come in with an all over design – but not sure just yet. Would love to have you closer to pick your brain some – thanks for the ideas!

      Reply
      1. Thread crazy Post author

        Well Melanie, after starring at the quilt top for past couple of days, I’ve decided to add a small black border around the entire quilt. This will tie the borders and the cornerstones together. Yep, that’s what it needs.

Leave a Reply

