Back at it again…

Here it is, mid February, and I finally got my Babylock machine back from the repair shop and much to my surprise, there were no major problems. Yea..so glad to have my machine back and running again. In it’s absence, I was using my trusty Pfaff; while it does a splendid job, it’s stitching speed is much slower than my Babylock, and when piecing, it’s speed I need!

You’ll be pleased to know the “crazy” quilt is coming along; the top and bottom borders are complete and I now know how I’ll complete the side borders. As I mentioned earlier, I decided to place large cornerstones in all four corners. The picture below shows a completed cornerstone; an appliqued flower on a 11-1/2″ block of black fabric.2014-02-18_18-24-12_236

Using double sided “Lite” Steam A Seam, I first pressed the steam-a-seam to back side of the flower panel. Then after carefully cutting the flower from the panel, I removed the wax paper backing and pressed it onto the cornerstone fabric. Once this was completed, a satin stitch was used to finish the edges of the flower. These cornerstones are just what the quilt needs! Now you’ll just have to “stay tuned” to see how I finish the side borders of this crazy quilt! Will I add more geese, half-square triangles, pinwheels…or….??

On to my next project, a donation quilt. My quilt group, the “Basket Cases”, decided to provide quilts for one of our local churches that has an orphanage/school in Africa. We found out they were building two additional dorms this year; one for boys and one for girls. Each dorm will have two bedrooms and each bedroom will have two sets of bunk beds. So we decided we would make quilts and a pillowcase for each bed. The only requirement we were given was to use a common fabric or color for the quilts, so they could further use this color to decorate the rooms.

After auditioning several patterns, we finally decided to use the “Take Five – Teacher’s Pet”. This particular pattern utilizes a common fabric in each block, so we choose the following fabrics:

For the girls...

For the girls…

For the boys...

For the boys…

Don’t these fabrics just scream fun!!! I’ll have pictures of all the completed quilts a bit later this spring, along with all the “Basket Cases” that helped in this endeavor. For my quilt, all I have left to do is add the two outer borders and I’m ready to make a sandwich and quilt!

Stay warm my friends in those chilly northern states! Spring is just around the corner….

2 thoughts on “Back at it again…

  1. Doreen

    Ah yes……..”Teacher’s Pet”! I now understand the comment. This is such a great pattern and makes up to be such a great size! I have more fabric for another………but have 4 tops in line to be quilted first!!! Plus a couple of b’day table runners needed the end of March. I’m so glad your machine is home!!!!!! Happy sewing!!! Hugs……………..

    Reply
  2. Thread crazy Post author

    Sounds like you need more snow so you can stay in and get all your projects sewed and quilted! Lol!! I’ve “got” to get this crazy quilt off the sewing machine so I can get on with my Granddaughter’s wedding quilt and other projects. I have so many things I’d like to do but seems like I never get to them as they get pushed to the back of the line!! Such as it is…happy sewing/quilting and do stay warm…INSIDE!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

