Fabric, Fabric and more Fabric!

For many of us, fabric and thread are what it’s all about; the more we get, the more we want. Have you ever just walked into your sewing or craft room and looked around at all the “things” you have accumulated through the years, and wondered how did I get all this? In trying to get myself motivated these past couple of weeks, I went into my sewing room and did just that. Much to my dismay, I noticed the “gremlins” that I’d left in charge of cleaning up after all the last minute sewing I’d done in December, had fallen short of their goal! So, as I began straightening things up, I started to ponder what makes us think we need all of these “things” to construct our crafts? Pins, rulers of all sizes, templates, rotary cutters, fabric markers, and the list goes on and on. Then, there’s all the fabric and threads of all sorts… and that’s when I saw it – my fabric stash….hanging from containers and shelves in the closet. Yikes, what was I thinking??

From working in the quilt shop, I would constantly see customers purchase yard after yard of fabric without the foggiest idea of how they were going to use it. I decided early on that was not going to be me! Nope, not me; I would only buy fabric for one project at a time, finish that project and then and only then, purchase more fabric for the next project. Yes, that’s what I was going to do. Great plan….if only I’d stuck to it!

Now standing there looking at all my fabric, it dawned on me – I’d become one of them! Never in a million years will I have the time and energy to sew all this fabric! Not only did I buy individual yards and yards of fabric, I also bought fabrics for 30+ quilt tops I thought I had to have, neatly packaged them in plastic zippered bags, ready to be pieced and sewed. Plus there’s the BOM’s and Second Saturday’s I’d started; 2 or 3 different ones, some more completed than others! Again, what was I thinking? And yet, how many times have I already purchased additional fabric this year and we’re only in the middle of January? Yikes – it’s got to stop … somewhere, doesn’t it?

So why do we do this to ourselves? I mean, have you ever asked yourself why do you buy all that fabric?? Through the years I’ve heard several individuals say it gives them a high just to walk through the shop and “feel” the fabric! Another one says it energizes and gets her creative juices flowing…ok, I understand that, but where do we stop? What about you – why do you buy fabric – is it because you have a need for it – or – do you just buy because you love the fabric?? I’m sure many of you have your own stories as to how your “stash” began; for me it’ll always be the love of the fabric. I once read an article in Quilting Arts, by Deirdre Scherer, (April/May 2010, p65), that pretty much sums it up for myself – “From birth until death we are wrapped in cloth – it directly stirs our sense of touch – which makes fabric an intimate and deeply associative language.”

Whatever your reason(s) may be, I’m sure we all can justify our needs and wants. For me, It’s time to forget the whys, clear the clutter, and start on this years projects. I have three projects that need to be done by late spring; my donation quilt, a quilt for my artist friend, and my grand-daughter’s wedding quilt. The latter, the wedding quilt I think will take a wee bit longer to complete, so I’d best get started.

Until next time, enjoy your fabrics and threads. Oh, did I tell you I also love to knit and needlepoint? Yes, there’s another storage closet for those items! Ugh…will it ever stop??

Here’s one of my 14 table toppers that I completed last year – this one I kept for myself…
DSCN2678

4 thoughts on “Fabric, Fabric and more Fabric!

  1. Melanie in IA

    Great table topper! How much yardage did it take? 😉

    I’m one of those people who gets stressed with “too much” stuff. I think it is overstimulating or something but I really don’t like it. I’m blessed with LOTS of space, but a lot of quilters would be surprised at how little of it is actually used by my stuff. Shelves and drawers empty or nearly so… I DO buy my share! But I shop looking for material for current projects. Having that as my focus limits how much I buy just because.

    There is the Yahoo group I’ve mentioned a number of times called Stashbusters. I think you can see the page I’m linking. If you’re interested in joining, it’s a closed group so you have to ask. Sandy Cook is the current admin for it.

    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/stashbuster/info

    Good luck!

    Reply
  2. Thread crazy Post author

    Yardage wise, you can use fat quarters or 1/4-1/3 yard for each color, depending if pattern is directional. I used a lot of fat quarters for Christmas toppers that I made. In this photo I just posted, I used four colors; pattern calls for just 3 but I like the diversity of 4 colors. Should you want some size figures, let me know and I’m happy to share.
    With regards to the fabric, I’m planning on donating some fabric later this year, plus share with granddaughters. Next year our quilt guild will have another quilt show so a box will go to them. Thanks for heads-up on yahoo group, as I’ll check in on them.

    Reply
  3. Linda Cart

    My Christmas table topper you made me is out all year. I love how I can use either side. When I see it, I instantly think of you (and many other times too). You got all the talent in the family. I watched mom sew too, but that didn’t help me. Thanks again for the topper.

    Reply
    1. Thread crazy Post author

      Your sweet Mom and my Auntie, so influenced my desire to learn to sew. Had she not been so patient with me when I was young, I may never have learned to sew. Between her and Grandma Coe, my love for sewing was nourished.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

