Back at it again…

Wow, where did the month of of May go? While I knew I hadn’t “blogged” for a few “days”, I didn’t realize I’d missed the whole month of May! Believe me, I have been busy on a variety of things. I am happy to report I’ve quilted two twin size donation quilts (starting on the third one), made a baby blanket and burp pads, pieced two quilts and working on granddaughter’s wedding quilt.

If that weren’t enough, it’s springtime (now going into summer here) and that means endless hours of “gardening”. Planting here in the south begins in January, with cleaning and turning the soil; then planting those cold weather and early crops (potatoes, onions, cabbage, broccoli, etc.). I’ve had good intentions to start preparing the garden in late fall once cold weather sets in, but somehow that never happens.

Then just as gardening was getting underway this spring, we experienced some “life” issues and once again, that took precedence. Just when we got all that behind us, a bad hail storm came through and yes, the house had to be re-roofed. Gosh, never before have I seen so many roofers competing for our business! Seemed like they were coming out of the woodwork. Still, somehow during this time I found a bit of time to stow away in my sewing room and have some much needed time to myself.

In the midst of all this, we decided to adopt another one of God’s creatures into our family. Hubby has been wishing for another “lap” puppy; our schnauzer, Misty Rose, is a big “Momma’s” baby, and while she will sit with Dad, once Mom comes into the room, it’s all over! Then we heard about a momma dog with five puppies that had been abused; seems her owner couldn’t afford to pay for a C-section when momma couldn’t have puppies so the owner took her back home and performed the C-section herself! Yep, amazing she and puppies survived. (Owner has since been brought up on animal cruelty charges). Upon hearing of their plight, we decided to adopt “Rosie”…can’t you just see the mischief in her sweet little eyes! DSC_0222

Needless to say our house is very active these days! Her momma was a Yorkie and her daddy was…well we may never know! DNA swabs were taken earlier this week, so we shall see. Poor momma dog; it appears there may have been more than one dad as 2 puppies look like momma (Yorkie), 2 puppies (Rosie and her brother) look like terrier of some sort, and the last one is all blonde colored and looks somewhat like a schnauzer. What a mix…all puppies and momma are now in loving homes!

So, back to quilting – more pics are on their way…..stay tuned.

3 thoughts on “Back at it again…

  1. treadlemusic

    But so loveable!!!!! I think that weather and “life issues” have hit a good number quite hard (here, too!). Lately, it’s been really difficult to carve out any type of sewing/quilting time. One day at a time……………………… I do hope your home is now “ship shape”!!

    Reply
  2. Thread crazy Post author

    Along with other things, both hubby and I seemed to have some hopefully minor health issues. While working the garden I fell backwards, pulling a vertebrae or two out of sorts, so that took a few dr. visits, and hubby has had some continuing back issues as well. His back is in bad shape anyways and sure didn’t need more. All in all, we are going forward, yes, taking it one day at a time.
    BTW…I did get me some clips and have tried pinning the ends of the quilts up above as you did….still trying to get the process a bit more perfected…I do have a table on each side of my “Sweetie” so drag wasn’t too bad, but the clips really makes a difference.

    Reply

Leave a comment